shitty microphone wizardry!

Dance + Glory = Dreamers Of The Ghetto


Dreamers Of The Ghetto are an amazing new band from Bloomington. There is definite sense of warm familiarity in the songs that this beautiful family trio conjure up. My first impression brought New Order to mind as a musical reference point, however, DOTG does not come off as some half-assed throw back. They are have a sense of style and composition all their own. First off, their vocal work is incredibly persice and smooth, almost reminiscent of early southern soul & gospel in places. One of the things that I love about this band is they are able to compose danceably pop-sensible music, without having to bubble-gum their vocals, lyrics and instumental melodies. DOTG’s vocals are rich, calming and nearly instrumental. As any songwriter can tell you, this is not an easy feat. I don’t know what their musical intentions are and I don’t really care. They are great… period! I can’t wait for a record to be released. This was recorded the same night as the Learner Dancer sets, regretfully, I lost power halfway through, so you will have to settle on a four track sample. You can download it here.

Leave a comment